The Piazza della Repubblica is the heart of the town. It is surrounded by public and religious buildings: the porticoed Town Hall, which is the result of the union of two buildings that was carried out during the 16th and 17th centuries (as evidenced by the different dimensions of the arches); the Civic Art Gallery, which is housed in the town hall, specifically in the Council House, in the Coat of Arms room and in other rooms on the first floor; the church of San Filippo, which houses a 13th century crucifix; and the Accademia Georgica erected in the 18th century according to the project of architect Giuseppe Valadier. It houses a rich collection of documents about the history of the Academy, which was founded in the 15th century with the name “Accademia dei Sollevati”.
One of the sides of the square is open with a balustrade that wasbuilt at the end of the 18th century. A monument to Pope Pius VI that was erected in 1785 rises at the centre of the balustrade. The view of the surrounding hills is particularly stunning from this viewpoint. The town has a beautiful Civic theatre that was built between 1805 and 1817. It is decorated with stuccoes and wooden paintings. The Cathedral, dedicated to Santissima Annunziata, was erected in the 19th century but the church upon which it was built, of which only the bell-tower remains, goes back to the 12th century. The convent of San Francesco houses the Archaeological Museum with some important findings from the territory illustrating the various periods of the town’s development starting from the Roman Trea.
Walking along the walls, you can discover towers and ancient gates and admire beautiful views. The panorama from Torre dell’Onglavina is particularly remarkable. This tower, also known as Torre di San Marco, was erected on a high sandstone spur: here you can enjoy a panoramic view of the area from the Sibillini Mountains to Abruzzo. The Sanctuary of the Santissimo Crocifisso is just outside the historical town centre, where it was built near the ancient Roman settlement of Trea. Several fragments of Roman objects are set into the lower part of the wall of the bell tower and at the convent entrance. Cesare Bazzani, a Roman architect who was very active in the Province of Macerata during the twenty-year Fascist period, built the current building. Inside the sanctuary there is an noteworthy wooden crucifix of the 15th century.